Low Estate – The Rope

Welcome Low Estate. Low Estate has released a new track. Listen to the Rope now on Metal Injection.

You can pre-order the bands debut full-length Covert Cult of Death now.


Low Estate is serious music played by men inclined to laugh themselves to death. The title of their debut album, “Covert Cult of Death,” is taken from the book, “The Insanity of Normality” by Swiss-German psychologist Arno Gruen. Gruen’s argument that evil is the result of self-hatred and self-betrayal forms the backbone of the group’s thematic approach.

With backgrounds in classic metal, hardcore, and noise rock, Low Estate have forged an imposing and caustic sound with a wry sense of humor, which isn’t reliant on blastbeats or atmospherics. Their off-kilter approach allows for sonic digressions that never overshadow the weight and the gravity of the songs themselves. The heaviness on Covert Cult of Death exists somewhere near the low-end of black metal, with a healthy dose of 90’s hardcore, and a dash of Jesus Lizard stirred in for good measure.

Splitting their time between Austin, TX and Brooklyn, NY, Low Estate consists of Brendan Tobin (Red Sparowes) on bass, Geoff Garlock (Orchid) on guitar, Jimmy Hubbard (The Year is One) on vocals, and Christopher Todd (Sannhet) on drums. The Covert Cult of Death features appearances by Integrity’s Dwid Hellion, David Castillo of Primitive Weapons, and Zachary Lipez of Publicist UK. The album was recorded by Tobin himself. It was mixed by Sanford Parker and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. The Covert Cult of Death is a winding and propulsive meditation on the world as it is, as it has always been.

Covert Cult of Death will be released on October 20th 2017.

The Rope
From A Silver Tongue
Comfort In Futility
Circle of Error
Day of Days
Masked Illusion

Total Running Time: 39.02

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply